ACM MSWiM 2007

Go to Message from the Program Co-chairs

Message from the General Chair

I am privileged and honoured to welcome you all to the 10th ACM International Symposium on Modeling, Analysis and Simulation of Wireless and Mobile Systems (MSWiM), in Chania, Greece. Over the years, MSWiM has consolidated to become a major event in the performance evaluation of wireless networks. Thus, let me first offer my special thanks to Azzedine Boukerche, the Finance and Steering Committee Chair, and to the whole MSWiM Steering Committee, for their hard work in the past ten years to make MSWiM such a successful event and for giving me the opportunity to organize the 10th edition of the symposium.

This year the technical program features very high quality papers, poster and demos/tools sessions, and it includes three keynote addresses from outstanding experts in the field of wireless systems. I would like to thank Prof. Leandros Tassiulas (University of Thessaly, Greece), Prof. Albert Y. Zomaya (University of Sydney, Australia), and Dr. Marco Conti (IIT-CNR, Italy) for accepting the invitation to be our keynote speakers.

MSWiM 2007 also features four tutorials on modeling and radio resource management in cellular networks, secure wireless communications, sensor networks and simulation of urban mesh networks. Besides, several workshops (MobiWAC, PE-WASUN, Q2SWinet, WMuNeP, PMHWN) will be held focusing on mobility management and wireless access, ubiquitous networks, security, multimedia, and heterogeneous wireless networks.

I wish to express our gratitude to the Program Co-Chairs Nael Abu-Ghazaleh and Sotiris Nikoletseas, and all the TPC members, for their terrific job in selecting an outstanding technical program. My gratitude also goes out to all the external referees for providing high quality reviews within a very tight schedule. I would like to thank Stephan Olariu and Hsiao-Hwa Chen for putting together a superb tutorial program, Mohamed Ould-Khaoua for organizing such high-quality workshops, Xi Zhang and Jelena Misic for making the Poster session a successful event, Ioannis Chatzigiannakis and Damla Turgut for organizing such an interesting Demos/Tools session, our publicity co-chairs Mirela Sechi Moretti Annoni Notare and Farid Nait-Abdesselam, and Luciano Bononi for his outstanding job in taking care of the symposium web page. Finally, I would like to express my gratitude to all authors for providing us with this exciting program for MSWiM 2007.

Last but not least, I wish to thank our main sponsor the ACM SIGSIM. I am very pleased to welcome you to MSWiM 2007 and I hope you will find this year's event full of creative, useful moments.

Carla-Fabiana Chiasserini
MSWiM 2007 General Chair
Politecnico di Torino, Italy

Message from the Program Co-Chairs

On behalf of the Organizing Committee it is our great pleasure to welcome you to the 10th edition of the ACM International Symposium on Modeling Analysis and Simulation of Wireless and Mobile Systems (MSWiM 2007). MSWiM has a long tradition of introducing important and timely work, and we are confident that this year's program will maintain the high standards of the conference. MSWiM is being held this year in Chania, in the beautiful and sunny Crete Island.

This year we received a group of 161 submissions in all areas of mobile and wireless systems. The submitted papers came from 37 countries, and the accepted papers from 22, reflecting the truly international nature of MSWiM. The submissions included a large number of papers of very high quality making the selection process difficult and competitive. We had a two phase review process: in the first phase, most papers received 3 or more reviews, based on which we classified them as clear accept, clear reject and discuss. In the second phase, the Technical Program Committee were asked to discuss the papers in the discuss category to reach an informed decision on them. In the end, we selected 40 regular papers, which represent a 24% acceptance rate. The members of the technical committee have recommend an additional 15 short papers for the program. In addition, the technical program includes three distinguished keynotes talks, five one-day workshops, four tutorials, a poster session and a demo session.

We selected the following three outstanding papers for candidates for the best paper award:

"Analysing QoS Trade-offs in Wireless Sensor Networks"
by Rob Hoes, Twan Basten, Chen Khong Tham, Marc Geilen, and Henk Corporaal

"An Efficient Bandwidth Guaranteed Routing for Ad Hoc Networks using IEEE 802.11 with Interference Consideration"
by Hakim Badis

"On Optimality of Single-Path Routes in Massively Dense Wireless Multi-hop Networks"
by Esa Hyyti and Jorma Virtamo.

The winner among these three papers will be announced at the conference dinner, and it will be reported in next year's proceedings.
The best paper award in last year's conference (MSWiM 2006) was won by the following paper:

"The Power of Choice in Random Walks: An Empirical Study"
by Chen Avin and Bhaskar Krishnamachari

Our special thanks go out to Prof. Azzedine Boukerche and the Steering Committee for their vision in guiding the conference throughout its first 10 years. We also thank Carla-Fabiana Chiassarini, the General Chair, for her exceptional professionalism and leadership which was instrumental in making the conference a success. We also join Carla in thanking everyone who contributed to the conference, including, Luciano Bononi, Stephen Olariu, Hsiao-Hwa Chen, Mohamed Ould-Khaoua, Damla Turgut, Ioannis Chatzigiannakis, Xi Zhang, Jelena Misic, Mirela Notare, and Farid Nait-Abdesselam. In particular, we thank the TPC members for their valuable time and expertise in evaluating the papers, and in helping us put together the program. We also wish to thank the external reviewers for providing high-quality reviews.

In closing, we warmly welcome everyone attending MSWiM 2007, and sincerely hope that the symposium and your stay will be informative, interesting and enjoyable.

Nael Abu-Ghazaleh
MSWiM 2007 Program Co-Chair
Binghamton University, USA
Sotiris Nikoletseas
MSWiM 2007 Program Co-Chair
University of Patras and CTI, Greece